Alcohol and Drug Related Traffic Offenses are some of the most serious traffic related charges one can get. Please click here for more information about Maryland DUI law and what to do if you are arrested for DUI in Maryland.
Driving on a Suspended License is one of the most frustrating crimes you can be charged with for two main reasons. First, you can face up to 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000 in fines and up to 12 points if convicted. Second, the law says you are guilty of driving on a suspended license if you knew or should have known your license was suspended. It is important in this situation to have an Attorney.
Another common incarcerable traffic ticket is Driving without a License. Don’t worry… this doesn’t apply to you if you left your wallet with your license at home. This is reserved for those people who never applied for a driver’s license. Driving without a License is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or $500 fine and the possibility of 5 points on your driving record.
Driving on a Revoked License is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or $1,000 fine and the possibility of 12 points on your driving record. One common mistake made by those who receive this ticket is that you knew your license had been revoked in the past, but the revocation period has expired. Most people do not realize you need to go back to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to apply for a new license before your license can be unrevoked.
There is another group of charges that prosecutors treat very seriously. Failure to Remain at the Scene of an Accident, aka “Hit and Run,” Fleeing and Eluding a Police Officer, and Driving without Insurance are all punishable by up to 1 year in prison. The penalty for Hit and Run changes depending if the other vehicle had someone in the car or didn’t. If someone in the other car was injured and it is not alleged to be a serious personal injury, the maximum penalty is 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine and 12 points. Fleeing and Eluding carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine and 12 points. Finally, Driving without Insurance also carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and/or $1,000 fine and 12 points.
Finally, the most serious incarcerable traffic charges are Vehicular Manslaughter and Homicide while Driving under the Influence. These charges carry a maximum penalty of 10 years and 5 years respectively. With these cases, time is of the essence and you do not want to wait to contact an attorney. There is much work to be done to defend cases of this sort.
Take the time to contact Zirkin and Schmerling Law, and we’ll help you to understand your legal rights and the consequences for the traffic tickets you have received. Your initial consultation is free of charge. You work hard and you need an attorney who will work hard for you. Call us today for your Free Consultation – 410-356-4455.