If you are being accused of assault in Maryland, it is important to know your legal rights. Call Zirkin and Schmerling Law for your initial consultation absolutely free of charge.
Assault crimes can vary from state to state in terms of their definition, severity of the crime and severity of the sentence. In Maryland, an “Assault” crime is listed as any offense which might fall under both “assault” and “battery” in other states. Assault crimes in Maryland can be either felonies or misdemeanors depending on the severity of the accusation. When facing Assault charges in Maryland, you should seek qualified help from professional attorneys with experience in Maryland Criminal Law.
First Degree Assault
In Maryland, there are only two types of Assault: First and Second Degree.
First Degree Assault is the more serious assault charge. First Degree Assault in Maryland is classified as a felony, and may be punishable by up to 25 years in prison.
You can be charged with first degree assault in Maryland if you are accused of intentionally causing serious physical injury to another, attempting to cause serious physical injury to another, or committing an assault with a firearm.
You could be charged with First Degree Assault if you seriously hurt someone or tried to hurt them but no harm came to them. Under the right circumstances, a push could be a First Degree Assault. Pointing a gun at someone is also a First Degree Assault.
Second Degree Assault
Second degree assault charges in Maryland are reserved for all other assault charges that do not fall under the classification of first degree assault. Technically Second Degree Assault is less serious than first degree assault, although you should still take this charge very seriously. While Second Degree Assault is a misdemeanor, it still carries a maximum potential sentence of 10 years in prison.
It is for these reasons that Second Degree Assault is one of the most frustrating charges you can be charged with. When you picture why someone would be charged with Second Degree Assault, you might imagine a bar fight. But you can also be found guilty of Second Degree Assault for conduct as little as spitting on someone or threatening to punch someone but never actually swinging your fists. Yet the penalty is still the same in all three examples.
How Do I Get Help for Assault Charges in Maryland?
The best way to defend yourself against assault charges in Maryland is to seek the help of qualified professional attorneys.
At Zirkin and Schmerling Law, we are qualified and professional litigators who can assist you with criminal and civil cases. If you have been accused of assault in Maryland, or any other crime, call us at (410) 356-4455 and one of our attorneys will be happy to speak with you about your case. Your initial consultation is free of charge.